4.    Project Working Area and Duration

The working area of the Action (i.e. UPP-Ujjibito component) will comprise a total of 1,724 unions in the target area. It includes all the unions (total 1,479) of Barisal, Khulna & Rajshahi (BKR) divisions as well as all the unions (total 245) of coastal upazilas of the districts of Lakshmipur, Noakhali, Chittagong & Cox’s Bazar of Chittagong division. These coastal Upazilas are Raipur, Ramgoti, Sadar, Ramgonj and Komolnagar of Laxmipur district; Hatiya, Companigonj, Sadar, Chatkhil, Senbagh, Bagumgonj and Subornachar of Noakhali district; Swandip, Anwara, Sitakunda and Bashkhali of Chittagong district ; and Teknaf, Moheshkhali, Ukhia, Chakaria, Ramu, Sadar and Kutubdia of Cox’s Bazar district.

The GoB funded Rural Employment and Road Maintenance Programme-2 (RERMP-2) will take place in every union of the country, with EU funds in 1,370 focal unions, mainly in Barisal, Khulna and Rajshahi (BKR) divisions. These 1,370 focal unions will be referred to as the focal unions under the overall Ujjibito project. In addition, Cash for Work members organised by the LGED in 109 unions of Bogra district will receive technical support under the component. The duration of implementation of the Action is 66 months. The duration will be from November 2013 to April 2019.